The standards

We successfully launched the updated UK GRS standards in April 2021, and the updated Republic of Ireland standards in May 2022. As part of this update, we have integrated the GRS with self-assessments, providing services with the flexibility to assess their compliance with the standards at any time. This means that services are no longer required to complete GRS census every April and October.

We understand that time is precious, and therefore, we have simplified the standards, making them less time-consuming for services to comply with. Our aim is to make the compliance process easier for your service moving forward. To learn more about the changes and how they will affect your service, we encourage you to review the guidance available on our website.


The aim of the JAG accreditation standards is to define a high-quality, safe and appropriate endoscopy service, delivered by a highly-trained, highly-supported and highly-motivated workforce.

The standards were written in consultation with endoscopy services, and are underpinned by national policy. Endoscopy services are asked to provide evidence to support their application for accreditation and demonstrate compliance with the standards.


Divided into nineteen domains, the standards reflect the four core components of a high quality endoscopy service:

  • leadership and organisation,
  • safety,
  • comfort,
  • quality,
  • appropriateness,
  • results,
  • respect and dignity,
  • consent and patient information
  • patient environment and equipment,
  • access and booking
  • productivity,
  • aftercare,
  • patient involvement,
  • teamwork,
  • workforce delivery,
  • professional development.

Services that do not provide training in endoscopy – typically those in the non-acute sector – are assessed against only the relevant domains.

    The clinical quality domain encompasses the service’s role in safe, effective accurate diagnosis and treatment or ongoing management. This is achieved through clinical practices that are appropriate to the patient population; effective management of risk and emergencies; and the review of existing and new clinical practice to develop and improve the service.

    The quality of the patient experience domain encompasses the service’s role in providing efficient, dignified and equitable access for all patients as well as their discharge from the endoscopy unit.

    The workforce domain encompasses the service’s role in safe, effective training and support of staff. This is achieved through leadership, service management and training practices that are appropriate to the workforce’s needs.

    The training domain encompasses the service’s role in safe, effective training of trainee endoscopists. This is achieved through leadership and training practices that are appropriate to the trainees’ needs.

For further information on the standards, please refer to the UK standards document, or the Republic of Ireland standards document.

Please read carefully and take any action requested - this message will not be shown the next time you log in